MS Dhoni Dropped from T20’s against WI and Aus, Virat Kohli Rested

Rohit Sharma to captain India in Virat Kohli's absence


There was something surprising but not that shocking about team India’s selection for the T20Is against WestIndies and Australia. Yes, the captain that won the inaugral T20 World Cup in 2007 and innumerable matches in the format with his helicopter shots – Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been dropped.

Indian captain Virat Kohli has also been rested for the T20Is against the WestIndies. Rohit Sharma will lead India in Kohli’s absence. Left arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem has got an opportunity in the squad.

India’s squad for T20I series against Windies:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem


Captain Kohli will be back for the T20I series against Australia. Exclusion of MS Dhoni might have been keeping the larger picture in mind. The next T20I World Cup will be played in 2020. It is expected that MS Dhoni would take a call on his career after the 50 over World Cup next year in England.


India’s squad for T20I series against Australia:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed

The biggest come back in the Test squad against Australia is that of Rohit Sharma. Murli Vijay, after being dropped in England and then against WestIndies have been selected. Parthiv Patel is named as a backup wicketkeeper to Rishabh Pant.

Hanuma Vihari who got a game in England has been selected. The disappointment would only be for Mayank Agarwal. After scoring tons of runs in domestic cricket and been selected for England and WestIndies, he hasn’t yet got a game and now he’s been dropped.

India’s Test squad for series against Australia:

Virat Kohli (captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Parthiv Patel (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar

India is to play 3 T20Is and 4 Test matches against Australia starting 21 November.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.