India script history by winning maiden Test series on Australian soil


Indian cricket team creates history; Wins first-ever test series in Australia beating the hosts 2-1 with Sydney test ending in a draw; Cheteshwar Pujara adjudged both, ‘Man of the Match’ and ‘Man of the Series’; President and Prime Minister congratulate Team India.

India won their first ever Test series in Australia after the fourth and final match at the Sydney Cricket Ground ended in a draw following three rain-truncated days.


India have toured Australia since 1947 but never before managed to win a series in the country. But it all changed this time as Virat Kohli led his side to 2-1 series victory after winning the first Test in Adelaide and the third Test in Melbourne.

Continuous rain in Sydney denied India a 3-1 series victory, but it couldn’t stop captain Virat Kohli from becoming the first ever Indian captain to guide India to a Test series victory on Australian soil.

Customary hand-shakes were followed by leaps, fist pumps, hugs and high-fives – all this was captured in one frame after the Border-Gavaskar trophy was handed to Kohli and his boys.


India ending a 71-year-old wait to win their first Test series in Australia. In total, India have toured Australia 12 times and finally managed to lift the Test series trophy under Kohli’s captaincy.

India were dominant in all three departments – batting, bowling and fielding. Such was the fragility of the Australian batting, a full day’s play possibly could have been enough to win a record three Test matches in a single series in Australia had the heavens not opened up.

With a slew of home Tests – outside of the one tour to the Caribbean in July – in the next 12 months, India have a great chance of extending their reign as the No. 1-ranked Test side.


For Kohli and India, this Test series will be extra special, for they found the batting support that their bowlers missed in South Africa and during their 4-1 loss in England.

In the end, the series scoreline was 2-1, with Australia’s Perth win sandwiched between India’s triumphs in Adelaide and Melbourne. Both sides will now square off in three ODIs to round-off a tour that began with the T20I series locked 1-1, with the second T20I in Melbourne ending in no result because of rain.

You might also like

Comments are closed.