Atal Bihari Vajpayee: A timeline


Here’s a look at the timeline of former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s life.

Birth -25 December 1924



Age – 93 years

Post-graduate – M.A Political Science, DAV College, Kanpur


1942 – Participated in Quit India Movement

1947: Sangh Pracharak

1951– Associated with Bharatiya Jan Sangh


1957 – Elected to Lok Sabha for first time from Balrampur, U.P

1962 – Member of Rajya Sabha

1968 – Chief of Jan Sangh

1975 – Imprisoned in Bengaluru Jail during emergency


1977 – Became External Affairs Minister

1977 – 4 October – Delivered speech in Hindi in United Nations

1980– Founder member of Bharatiya Janata Party

1980 – Became First President of BJP

1992– Awarded Padma Vibhushan

1993– Made Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha

1996 – Became PM on 16th May for first time

1998– 19 MArch: Elected PM for second time

1998– Pokhran atomic test done successfully in May

1999– Bus journey to Lahore on 19th February

1999 -Won the Kargil War

1999 – Elected PM for third time on 13th October

2001– Indo-Pak Agra Summit on 14 July

2005– Retired from active politics

2015– Awarded Bharat Ratna

2018- Passed away in New Delhi

You might also like

Comments are closed.